Favorite characters…

Who are some of your favorite fictional characters?

What makes them so?

I remember thinking of Atticus Finch (when TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD was a relatively new book) as a real man I was eager to meet.  He didn’t talk down to children and took a case he knew he would lose.

At the moment, I’m re-reading JANE EYRE.  What a spirited girl Jane is as she stands up to the little bully John Reed and his imperious mother as soon as the novel starts.

What characters have made you notice and remember them?

Continued happy reading,

Mary

2 thoughts on “Favorite characters…

  1. Lucia says:

    Fave characters? Strong women and tortured men. One of my most memorably favorite would be Meg Murray in A Wrinkle in Time. She showed a young girl that you could have mousy brown hair, glasses, be brilliant and loving, save the world AND get the hunky older guy. There were no characters like her when I was growing up.
    I adore King Lear because he opened my eyes to the whole concept of Shakespeare’s tragic hero and, through him, I realized that I was madly in love with the Bard and his vernacular (thanks to Mary Donnarumma, teacher extraordinaire).
    Heathcliff for his brooding, painfully romantic, anti-hero qualities.
    Harry Potter for his unwavering belief in the goodness of the human spirit.
    Josephine March for her ‘aspirations and her antics’.
    Seeley, Kate (sometimes called Kate the Cursed), Jamie Fraser and Odd Thomas. I could go on but I shall stop now-GREAT question-thanks Mary=)

  2. marydonnarummasharnick says:

    Great student that Lucia was, turned into wise and wildly wonderful woman–

    In two more chapters, I’ll have a chance to re-consider old friend Jane Eyre.

Leave a Reply

